Simone Young

Simone Young has been Music Director and General Manager of the Hamburg State Opera since autumn 2005, as well as Music Director of the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra.

She was born in Sydney where she studied composition and piano, making a sensational debut at the Sydney Opera House in 1985. In 1987 she was awarded the title «Young Australian of the Year», which brought her to Europe on a scholarship and afterwards to the Cologne Opera. Daniel Barenboim engaged her as Kapellmeister at the Berlin State Opera from 1993 – 1995. Important debuts followed , starting her international career.

From 1999 to 2002 Simone Young was Music Director of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra and from 2001 to 2003 Music Director of Opera Australia in Sydney and Melbourne.

Simone Young conducts on major international opera and concert stages, including the State Operas of Vienna, Berlin, Hamburg and Munich. She also conducts in Florence, at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London, the Opera Bastille in Paris, the Metropolitan Opera in New York, the Houston Grand Opera, the Opera Los Angeles and in many other houses. She also takes part in festivals such as the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino or the Baden-Baden Festival.

Simone Young has also worked with many important orchestras: the Vienna Philharmonic, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, the Staatskapelle Berlin, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic, the Rotterdam Philharmonic, the Melbourne and Sydney Symphony Orchestra, the Stuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra, the NHK Tokio, the Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna and the Gulbenkian Orchestra in Lisabon where she is HAS BEEN the Principal Guest Conductor since 2007.

Simone Young was awarded an Honorary Doctorate at the Universities of Sydney and Melbourne, the «Chevalier des Arts et Lettres» in France as well as the Goethe Medaille in Weimar and the Brahms Prize in Schleswig Holstein. The magazine «Opernwelt» named her «Conductor of the Year» in October 2006 when she also became Professor at the University for Music and Theatre in Hamburg.

20 February 2010

Simone Young

Simone Young

Music Department   |
Copyright © 1997 / 2010 by Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation | All Rights Reserved.